A Sweet Spring Frozen Treat!

I wanted to share an easy yet refreshing sweet, Spring frozen treat!  This treat dates back quite a few years ago for me, during the summer of my last year of college.

I spent that summer serving on a Summer Project with Campus Crusade for Crusade in Gatlinburg, TN.  The summer was spent growing in my relationship with the Lord, working at Wendy’s (making fries and chicken nuggets!), stepping out of my comfort zones, going to Dollywood, sharing Christ with others and much more!

We were split into male and female “small groups,” but a few times a month, the male and female groups would have activities together that always involved having to cook dinner for one another.  My small group leader decided to bring a version of the dessert below and I loved it!  I’ve been making it ever since.

The pie only takes a few ingredients, very little time to prepare and it’s cheap to make!  It’s perfect with the warmer weather now here.

Here’s what you’ll need:   1 container of Cool Whip (I used a low fat version), 1 small single size container of your favorite yogurt (I used Yoplait’s Fat Free Strawberry), 1 cup of fresh cut strawberries, and 1 graham cracker pie crust

How to prepare the treat:

1)  If you buy the Cool Whip frozen, which is how most grocery stores sell it, make sure you thaw it first

2)  Once the Cool Whip has defrosted, in a large bowl, stir together the Cool Whip and yogurt

3)  Spoon the mixture into the graham cracker pie crust

4)  Freeze the pie for a few hours

5)  When ready to serve, let the pie thaw out for 20-30 minutes.  This way you can cut the pie into slices

6)  Top with fresh strawberries!

**In this particular pie, I added fresh strawberries to the Cool Whip and Yogurt mixture before placing it in the graham cracker crust, but that is optional.  If you do this, beware that the strawberries in the pie mixture will stay frozen and will be crunchy!  I do not advise this for people with sensitive teeth**

The best thing about this pie?  Feel free to use any flavor of yogurt that you enjoy!  The possibilities are endless!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment