Skip the brown bag…

So I had the opportunity today to skip my normal brown bag lunch and enjoy Chick-N-Que. What’s Chick-N-Que you ask? Well folks, it’s a local food truck that came to my work today. Crazy right? This is the 2nd time that a food truck has come to my work and I hope this is the start of many more to come!

I had my first food truck experience last year at a Food Truck Rodeo. In a nearby city, around 15 food trucks gathered to sell their yummy dishes and since then I’ve been hooked on the concept.  Who doesn’t like skipping the PB&J for something tasty and different?  You don’t have to ask me twice!  Food trucks usually have a specific food they offer and most of the time it’s for a reasonable price.  I’ve seen food trucks that specialize in cupcakes, ice cream, pizza, korean bbq, dumplings, etc.  Today I was able to get this Chick-n-Que sandwich with slaw, fries with cheese sauce (bad Kristin) and a Lemonade for $7.   The sandwich was similiar to a southern style pulled BBQ, but in the form of chicken instead of pork.  Not too shabby and pretty darn delicious!

 (Source)

According to Wikipedia, the food truck, originally coined the “chuckwagon,” dates back to the 1800’s. Who knew? A cattle herder, Charles Goodnight, once used an Army truck to transport food during cattle drives.

 (Source)

Today, food trucks can be found all over. Just google Food Trucks in your city and I bet you’ll be surprised. You can also check out FoodTruckTalk on Twitter for some tidbits about food trucks around the US. Most food trucks themselves can be located and followed on Twitter as well. A few in my town that I still want to try are: The Grilled Cheese Bus, Parlez-vous Crepe, Blue Ribbon Delights and the Doughnette Truck.

What’s your favorite food truck item? If you’ve yet to try a food truck, you are missing out on some goodness!!! Please make note that food trucks tend to draw crowds so make sure you are ready to stand in line, but I promise you, it’s worth it!

Thanks, Chick-N-Que, for bringing some goodness to my Monday!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

