Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes..

The holidays were spent with family and friends and it couldn’t have been any better.  It was our first Christmas as a married couple and my husband set the bar high.  He presented a new idea to me this year, which I’m hoping to carry on throughout the years to come.  Instead of material gifts, he gave me the gift of experience and he couldn’t have picked a more special experience for me.  One of my favorite musicians is Paul Simon.  I was introduced to his music back in high school and I’ve never gotten tired of it since.  I had always wanted to see him live, but he had never toured close by until this December.  The day tickets went on sale, they were gone within minutes.  Needless to say I wasn’t a happy camper.  I had given up on the idea of going because I knew buying tickets off someone else would just be too expensive.  Well little did I know, my husband sought out tickets to give me for Christmas! It was an early Christmas ‘experience,’ but it was one of the best ‘experiences’ I’ve ever had.  The concert was held in a small venue, which made it that much more special.

 

This is the outside of the venue, known as the DPAC.  I was a little shocked to find out that there would be an opening band for Paul Simon.  I must say that the opening band, was an experience in itself.  The band, The Wild Feathers, were amazing.  You can check them out on Facebook.  I’m patiently waiting an album release for them.

After The Wild Feathers did their thing, Paul Simon took over and I loved every minute of it!  You can go here for the set list of the night.  Number 15 is one of my favs.  Paul played for a good 2 hours with 2 encores.  Below are a few pictures from the night. It was definitely a concert I’ll never forget and thus, a Christmas to always remember as well!

Try giving an ‘experience’ rather than a gift next holiday.  I think the recipient will be grateful.  I know I was!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

